Arveent Srirangan Kathirtchelvan is the Founder and Chief Coordinator of #Liberasi. He graduated from the University of Manchester with a Masters of Engineering in Chemical Engineering in 2018.

He is passionate in marrying the pure sciences and social science, leading him to found an online engineering magazine, YME Insider , which focuses on the social impact on and of the STEM field. His interest lies in the realms of personal biases and navigating through social constructs in the pursuit of preserving the most common ideologies.

Arveent is one of the first students to work on what was known as the #followthewhisper campaign and The Proposal for The Declaration on Students’ Rights to Freedom of Speech, Assembly and Association to advocate for Malaysian students’ right to freedom of speech in the UK. He was also formerly both an intern at IDEAS Malaysia and a fellow of the Independent School of Thinkers.


Goh Cia Yee is a member of #Liberasi.


Michelle Liu is a member of #Liberasi. She graduated from the University of Essex with a Bachelor of Laws degree in 2018.  She is currently pursuing the Certificate of Legal Practice (CLP) in order to be admitted as a lawyer in Malaysia. She is passionate about educating the public on their rights under the law. After a short stint as an editor at a legal news site, she has come to appreciate writing and the crucial role it plays in educating, promoting understanding and critical thinking — all of which are necessary elements for public discourse.

She was the Human Rights & Activism Officer of the United Kingdom & Eire Malaysian Law Students’ Union (KPUM) between 2017-2018. During her tenure, she led the Union’s human rights arm in initiatives to educate Malaysian students on human rights as well as advocacy campaigns such as the campaign against the Anti-Fake News Bill 2018 and campaign promoting postal voter registration leading up to GE14.

She also advocated for Malaysian students’ right to freedom of expression at the UK & Eire Council of Malaysian Students (UKEC) — joining Arveent and Cia Yee as the Chairperson of the Drafting Committee for the The Declaration on Students’ Rights to Freedom of Speech, Assembly and Association.